WC0M Home

A Little Bit About Me

My name is Greg Marx and I live in Bradford Township (near the city of Isanti), in Isanti County, Minnesota, U.S.A. (Grid Square EN35). Bradford Township has about 3500 residents. It's footprint on the map is about 36 square miles and is mostly agricultural. Isanti is a small town of about 5000 people nestled on the Rum River about 40 miles north of downtown Minneapolis.

I took my first amateur radio license exam on 14-March-1987 and received my first license as a Novice on 12-May-1987. I upgraded to Technician Class on 19-September-1987 and then to General Class on 27-February-1988. I waited until several years later, and on 22-December-1997 I upgraded to Advanced Class. Up to this point I had kept the same call sign - KB0AAR. Then on 8-June-2002, I upgraded to Extra Class. On 23-June-2002 I began signing as AB0WB until 12-December-2006 when my station was assigned WF0GM. Then on 7-January-2017 I was granted a new call sign: WC0EM that I held until 9-February-2019 when the FCC granted me the vanity call I have been trying to obtain for over 2 years: WC0M - my current call sign.

I am what you would call a casual operator. I love chasing DX and working some contests like Sweepstakes and Field Day, but always on a very casual basis. I will use the "hunt and peck" method most of the time, but also enjoy establishing a frequency and being on the receiving end of a pileup once in a while. 

I have been a member of the American Radio Relay League since 1987. I am also a subscriber to CQ Magazine. I highly recommend this publication to anyone who is interested in reading about amateur radio. Check out their web site at http://www.cq-amateur-radio.com

A photo of me and my goats Kuzzle and Kozinka.
You can see my dog Hazel, a female Springer Spaniel, on the right by the gate.

My interests include Amateur Radio, Hunting/Shooting, and Fishing (yes, even on a frozen lake in the winter!). I am a member of the Isanti County Sportsman's Club. Other interests include Canoeing and Kayaking, Guitars/Music, Computers and Computer Programming, Gardening, raising Laying hen chickens, and Reading (especially about early American and WWII History).  In the photo above, you can see that I have a nice big pen for the goats and chickens. (I live on a 5 acre plot of land).


WC0M Home